Information on Niigata Prefecture

The prefectural capital is Niigata.

Niigata Prefecture consists of four districts of a jyoetsu district, a tyuetsu district, Niigata, a kaetsu district, and a sado district.
Main industries are agricultural products. The area of rice is the 1st in Japan. And the harvest of rice is the 2nd in Japan. Niigata Prefecture is famous as a place of production of koshihikari. Especially koshihikari of a uonuma district has the No.1 evaluation of Japan. The sake of Niigata Prefecture is the 3rd in Japan following Hyogo Prefecture and Kyoto.

The industry of Niigata Prefecture is a producing district of a few crude oil in Japan. And mining of the agaoki oil field is advanced still now.

A cities, towns and villages list is here.

Ranking of Niigata
Item National ranking Outline
Area (2009) The 6st place 10.364 square kilometers
The number of cities, wards, towns, and villages (2010) The 25st place 30 cities, towns and villages
Population (2008) The 14th place 2,413,103 persons
Number of households (2008) The 15th place 837457 households
People-of-the-prefecture gross product (substance) (2007) The 14th place 9,992,052 (unit: 1 million yen)