Information on Toyama Prefecture

The prefectural capital is Toyama.

Toyama Prefecture adjoins Niigata Prefecture, Nagano Prefecture, Gifu Prefecture, and the Ishikawa prefecture. North faces the Sea of Japan. The three directions of Toyama Prefecture are mountain ranges, such as a tateyama mountain range. In the center in Toyama Prefecture, a plain spreads. And south is a hida mountain range.

Since Toyama Prefecture has much nature, there is rich water. It is used for multiple purposes, such as water-power generation and drinking water. It is the important resources supporting a life or industry. The industry of Toyama Prefecture is supported in electric power and water. Therefore, information processing business is prosperous. It forms industrial accumulation of the Sea of Japan.

shirakawagou of a World Cultural Heritage, a tateyama mountain range, and the Alpine route of tateyama&kurobe are popular tourist resorts.

A cities, towns and villages list is here.

Ranking of Toyama
Item National ranking Outline
Area (2009) 45 2,046 square kilometers
The number of cities, wards, towns, and villages (2010) The 47st place 15 cities, towns and villages
Population (2008) The 38th place 1,106,340 persons
Number of households (2008) The 40th place 382789 households
People-of-the-prefecture gross product (substance) (2007) The 30th place 5,108,619 (unit: 1 million yen)